Founded in 1946

Founded in 1946

Australian National University

Founded in 1946

Founded in 1946

Australian National University

Quick facts

  • 17380

  • 6496

    International students
  • 00120C

    CRICOS Code
  • 27

    World ranking
  • 1

    Country ranking

Australian National University

The Australian National University (ANU) is unlike any other university in Australia. 

Founded in 1946, in a spirit of post-war optimism, its role was to help realise Australia's potential as the world recovered from a global crisis.

That vision, to support the development of national unity and identity, improve our understanding of ourselves and their neighbours, and provide the nation with research capacity amongst the best in the world, and education in areas vital for our future, has been ANU mission ever since.

It can be difficult work, but it's work ANU proudly do.

It's because connecting talented people with diverse perspectives, equipping and encouraging them to address the most complex of tomorrow's problems, and ensuring Australia's future is not just ANU approach.

It's also their national role and international responsibility as Australia's national university, and it's a responsibility from which they'll never waver.

On-campus accommodation

Campus list based on university info

Acton campus (UG)

Residence fee Duration

$11,700 AUD

UP to $17,100

Acton campus (PG)

Residence fee Duration

$11,700 AUD

UP to $17,100

Off-campus accommodation

annual rent in Canberra
based on univly research


Shared house

$11,736 AUD


Shared house

$7,824 AUD


Entire house

$23,472 AUD


Mount Stromlo Observatory (MSO) is the home of the ANU Research School of Astronomy and Astrophysics. 

It's about 18km southwest of Canberra city in the Australian Capital Territory (ACT). 

The ANU Mount Stromlo Observatory covers an area of 81 hectares on the summit of Canberra's Mt Stromlo. 

The Siding Spring Observatory (SSO) is the largest optical observatory in Australia and is an important site for astronomy, astrophysics and space science in Australia.

Siding Spring is one of two key sites for the Research School of Astronomy and Astrophysics in Australia (RSAA). 

The Siding Spring Observatory is located on Mount Woorut (at a height of 1165m) approximately 25 kilometres west of the town of Coonabarabran, NSW. 

Acton campus is in the heart of Canberra - Australia's capital city - in the Australian Capital Territory (ACT).

From here it's an easy walk, bike ride or drive to some of Australia's most significant political and cultural institutions including Australian Parliament House.

Amongst the modern lecture halls, libraries, laboratories, student residences and administration buildings, you'll find all the conveniences of a small suburb including cafes, bars, supermarkets, child care centres, a newsagency, post office and even a medical centre.

Kioloa Coastal Campus - the Australian National University's coastal field station since 1975. 

Visit the ANU's outdoor classroom at the New South Wales south coast to engage, teach and study surrounded by national parks and pristine beaches. 

Street view

Australian National University

Search courses in Australian National University

Choose Level
# Course Type Tuition